MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

REGULAR SESSION 1999

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Walls, Frazier, Blackmon, Moffatt, Farris, Woodfield, Smith, Gordon, Carlton, Nunnelee, Simmons, White (29th), Scoper, Johnson (19th), Gollott, Cuevas, Carter, Lee, Bean, Turner, Hewes, Tollison, Hawks, Ross, Bryan, White (5th), Harvey, Harden, Burton, Browning, Thames, Little, Mettetal, Horhn, Jackson, Huggins, Minor, Hamilton, Canon, Ferris, Jordan (24th), Jordan (18th)

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 659

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING AND CONGRATULATING THE 2 MEMBERS OF THE MISSISSIPPI ALL-STAR GIRLS AND BOYS BASKETBALL 3 TEAMS AND THEIR COACHES ANNA JACKSON AND ISAIAH PETERSON. 4 WHEREAS, the Mississippi All-Star Girls Basketball Team and 5 the Mississippi All-Star Boys Basketball Team will represent the б state in this summer's renewal of the prep basketball rivalry with 7 the State of Alabama, sponsored by the Mississippi Association of 8 Coaches; and 9 WHEREAS, the two squads will meet Alabama's best at Florence, Alabama, on Saturday, June 12, 1999; and 10 WHEREAS, unanimous and consensus picks by the committee of 11 12 coaches for the two teams are as follows: 13 MISSISSIPPI GIRLS PLAYER HEIGHT SCHOOL 14 15 Catrina Frierson 6-1 Vicksburg Kesha Tardy 6-0 Jackson-Murrah 16 6-3 17 LaToya Thomas Greenville Oxford Meg Banathan 5-11 18 19 Tamika Rogers 5-10 Jackson-Murrah 20 Angela Bullock 5-9 Williams-Sullivan 21 Keisha Stringfellow Clinton 5-9 Johnita Conrad Choctaw Central 22 5-7 Erica Thompson 6-2 23 Stone County 24 Amie Williams 6-6 Cleveland-East Side 25 Keela Ball 6-8 Pontotoc 5-7 26 Jessica Puchen Hancock

27 28 MISSISSIPPI BOYS 29 PLAYER HEIGHT SCHOOL 30 Jonathan Bender 6-11 Picayune 31 Dennis Buse 6-1 Tupelo 32 Kelvin Butler 6-2 Shelby-Broad Street 33 James Denson 6-2 Choctaw Central 6-7 Biloxi 34 Ronald Dupree 35 John Gunn 6-11 Oxford Leroy Hurd 6-8 Moss Point 36 6-5 37 Aaron Harper Jackson-Provine б-5 38 Dennis Isom Byhalia 39 Alonza Lane 6-6 Canton 40 Trey Sanders 6-6 Jackson-Jim Hill Lincoln Smith 6-10 Hollandale-Simmons; 41

42 and

43 WHEREAS, the girls' team will be blessed with continuity at 44 the top as 16-year Jackson-Murrah Head Coach Anna Jackson will 45 lead the Mississippians into battle, assisted by Coach Gary Miller 46 from Clinton and Gina Skelton from Forest; and

47 WHEREAS, the boys' team will be led by 30-year Shelby-Broad 48 Street Head Coach Isaiah Peterson, assisted by Coach Lewis Love, 49 Jr., from Canton and Geary Jackson from Meridian, and the 50 challenge of all coaches will be to quickly mold these superlative 51 players into a team when their first workouts begin in April; and WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize 52 53 Mississippi's best basketball players, who have brought honor to 54 their school, their community and to the State of Mississippi: NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 55 56 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That 57 we do hereby recognize and congratulate the members of the Girls and Boys Mississippi All-Star Basketball Teams and their Coaches 58 Anna Jackson and Isaiah Peterson, and extend to them the best 59 60 wishes of the Legislature as they prepare to meet the Alabama 61 All-Star Teams in games this summer.

62 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 63 presented to the members of the Mississippi All-Star Teams and

S. C. R. No. 659 99\SS01\R1540 PAGE 2 64 Coaches, and to representatives of the Mississippi Association of65 Coaches, and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.

S. C. R. No. 659 99\SS01\R1540 PAGE 3